They turned camera on me

As I’m waiting for the long dialogue of conversation to be uploaded to Final Cut, it will be interesting to see where the Camera died and what the conversations were before it happened.

Berger (1972) talks of ways of ‘Seeing’, I am thinking that maybe as Abortion is such a subjective thing, this video is more about why I think it needs to be talked about. I have had many people say interesting things on the topic yet they don’t want to be filmed, Somehow I want to represent the people who didn’t want to be filmed. So, whilst Berger’s focus is primarily on the visual image, something that I am definitely struggling with, in actuality, the idea of ‘seeing’ myself scares me. But actually, perhaps that’s really important. Maybe putting myself in the film is necessary. Maybe it’s self centred.

My best friend talked about, how he feels in the UK we should all have one set of view point, and anyone who thinks differently is actually discriminated against. I think there is actually something in this. He genuinely believes equality for everyone, which is a wonderful stance, but yet when it comes to the topic of  Abortion in my eyes this makes the idea of quality confused.

For me personally Abortion is all about the woman. My mum asked if I got pregnant and the father was someone who would never have a chance to have a child, would that make me keep it. I genuinely think that I wouldn’t. Maybe this is selfish, but when it comes to my body, I think I have a right to be selfish.

Throughout this video, I did not want to be in the video, I hate my voice, in my opinion it is too squeaky, and a whole host of other feelings when I hear it.

But, I know it’s late notice, but I maybe now it is about me asking what others think.
It’s starting to get, from asking others opinions I am trying to find my own voice.

Perhaps this voice, is all about my uncertainty of what I actually think. I think the only way we can ever understand our own feelings on anything is by asking others what they think. Whether the topic is love, lust, race, sex, religion, beauty and laughter.
I think this is what my aim was.

Leave a Reply

